06
Apr
09

Food must be in towers, towers!

burger

Veggie Camembert Burger

Huddle round veggies and hear the tale of a giant burger! Normally when you chance a veggie burger, you get some form of unidentifiable veggie mush patty but not at the Gourmet Burger Kitchen. Call me a food snob, but this is one of the only chain restaurants I would recommend to a friend. After visiting Sunday Upmarket, which is lege by the way, we ordered up a gut full of food at the GBK in Spitalfields. As it was our first visit there, when I was ordering the Veggie Camembert burger the description had a lot of ingredients in it, (sweet potato, Portobello mushrooms, roasted red pepper etc) so I assumed it would be mashed to a pulp and deep fried. But no, it arrived with a fanfare of rocket in a giant tower. The people at the next table sniggered, I look shocked, it tasted goooood!

I did have to deconstruct the tower to eat it and then it was like a burger/salad bonanza. I’ve included a pic above in case you don’t believe this fairytale of burger heaven (in the background you can see the normal sized Avocado Bacon Burger the bf ordered). A couple of downsides to GBK you have to order at the till and pay beforehand, service then is quite slow and erratic as clearly they don’t expect to be tipped with this payment method. Also if you want to order an extra portion of sauce it costs a whopping £1.55. Jeesh!

3 Responses to “Food must be in towers, towers!”


  1. April 6, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Hey, I looked at your site as mine was one of the automatic generated posts, anyway, that’s SOME burger !! They do stack ’em high at GBK – might even have to try the veggie one myself next time I’m in. Love the blog, anything that’s food related gets my vote 🙂

  2. 2 risschris
    April 18, 2009 at 10:20 am

    This is amazing.

    I’ve added you to my Google Reader. I’m creepy like that.


Leave a Reply

