25
May
09

Crazy Austrian Cuisine

I promised this post a while ago and while it’s not like I am disappointing my legion of followers (ha!) I thought I better cough it up, if only to warn future visitors to Austria. These are a few foodie snaps from our not so recent snowboarding trip to St. Anton, Austria, oh and one of me in action!

09032009258

No offense to the Austrians, but let’s face it… they’ve never met a carb they didn’t like. Our trip was characterised by meats wrapped in other meats, breads, dumplings and assorted noodles. Fruit never really gets a look in and salad, my staple go-to meal, was tainted by odd apple sauce substances, too much mayo and pickled things.

Breakfast was assorted breads with cheese and sliced meats, lunch was a choice of some kind of dumpling, meats or meaty soups and dinner was more of the same or fondue. After every meal I felt like I was swimming against a tide of food. I just don’t know how the Austrians do it… they all seem healthy and strapping, but their insides must be breaded and fried.

12032009350

Schnitzel, sausage wrapped in bacon.

fleischkase

Fleischkase – which possibly translates as meat cheese, but is actually some slab of meat, often with a fried egg on top.

weiswurst

Gah, Weiss Schnitzel and pretzels

weiner

See what I mean about the salad.

spinach-dumplings-with-gorgonzola-sauce

Yes, this is actually food. It’s Spinach Dumplings with a Gorgonzola sauce or known as Indigestion Waiting to Happen.

14032009382

Rosti with bacon, chips and a fried egg.

14032009383

Fondue, eugh always seems like a good idea at the time but translates as big ball of cheese sitting in my belly.

saltimbocca-romana

Saltimbocca Romana – or a hot mess. Classic Italian dish, translates as hopinthemouth, veal wrapped as prosciutto with risotto balls.

13032009364

Chocolate bunny. I didn’t let him hop away.

130320093651

Creamy, appley pastry thing.

13032009368

They like to dye their boiled eggs, I don’t know why.

applestrudel2

Apfelstrudel!!!!!

Since I am a vegetarian, it is weird that I have so many pictures of meat, right? But the Austrians are not so fond of vegetarian food, so you mostly just get pasta or strange salads.  I did enjoy seeing my holiday companions chow into their bizarre lunches and not end up curled up in the foetal position on the Alps, rocking back and forth.

3 Responses to “Crazy Austrian Cuisine”


  1. 1 petebyrne
    May 25, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Yum!

    Great pics. Great post. I was in Austria almost forty-years ago, and I still lust for much of that stuff. Hopeless!

    I also happen to be a boarder. Is there a connection between “Schlage” and snowboarding? Hmmmm!

    Pete

  2. 2 eatersregret
    May 25, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Yeah the food is oddly addictive isn’t it, maybe you need all those carbs to survive the mountains.

  3. 3 mei
    May 28, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    bacon dogs! reminds me of my neighborhood in san francisco where they have bacon dog carts lining the streets every night. the smell follows you every time you leave the bar.

    also, you’re a vegetarian? hilarious. too bad cause that saltimbocca looks like one hot mess of delicious.


Leave a Reply

